Wings of Morning

series: These Highland Hills

Cover Art

Where to Purchase


Orphan heiress and Scotswoman, Regan MacLaren, is a bride of but one day when her husband is murdered. As a result, Regan loses her memory and with it her place in the world. Laird and warrior, Iain Campbell, is waiting for the love he knows God will bring him. But a woman near death and without a memory isn't quite what he expected.

With their clans feuding, Regan and Iain should never have met. But, when their paths cross, they come to know and love each other--only to encounter more obstacles in their way. Iain's a suspect in the murder of Regan's husband, and he soon becomes a stumbling block to unholy ambitions that may well lead to more deaths, including his own. Will betrayal and suspicion force them apart forever? Or can their love help heal their clans and their land?

The Author

  1. Kathleen Morgan

    Kathleen Morgan

    Kathleen Morgan is the award-winning author of many novels, including those in the bestselling Brides of Culdee Creek series. She lives in Colorado.

    Continue reading about Kathleen Morgan


"Set in the lush Scotland Highlands of 1566, Morgan's follow-up to Child of the Mist is another spellbinding tale of feuding clans and sweeping romance. Morgan's skilled pen transports readers to another time and place filled with honor, faith, and chivalry. A beautifully woven tapestry, her novel will please historical romance fans, especially those who enjoy Liz Curtis Higgs."--Library Journal

"Kathleen Morgan lets you see the light and love God's guiding hand. I really enjoyed reading this book and can't wait to read the next book by Kathleen Morgan."

"Kathleen Morgan brings readers a second helping of late 1500s Scotland in book two of the These Highland Hills series. Clan feuds, murder, deceit, romance, and faith combine to make a historical Scottish tale that has earned a place on my keeper shelf alongside its prior companion."

"The reader will be excited to read to the very last page of Wings of Morning. It is filled with mystery and romance. Even though the book is part of a series, it stands alone and can be enjoyed without having read the first one."

"The author has caught the scope of Scottish Highland life of the 1500s with a set of well-rounded characters who live in the midst of prejudice, superstition, feuds, and tight clans, yet who hold a fierce real faith that overcomes all."--Author's Choice Reviews

"Wings of Morning by Kathleen Morgan engaged my heart from the first. Characters with real feelings and situations grab your heart on this well written journey. Kathleen Morgan is a wonderful storyteller able to grip your emotions with words on a page. I look forward to reading book one soon and any other books in the series. I highly recommend "Wings of Morning" as a great read. Be prepared to spend some time with the book, though, since it was hard to put down."--The Road to Romance

"Kathleen Morgan weaves a fascinating tale of highland romance. Though I have read little historical fiction in the past few years, I scoped out free moments to pick up her book. Her characters are well drawn. Morgan, the winner of the 2002 Rose Award for Best Inspirational Romance and author of several romances, delivers again. Fans of historical fiction or of Scotland will enjoy this book."

"Morgan leads the reader on a kilt wrinkling adventure while all the while weaving in biblical principles of trust and forgiveness. Be prepared to not only enjoy the fast-paced action, but also to do a fair amount of introspection on the state of your own willingness to forgive. Wings of Morning is an enjoyable escape to another place and time and would be a great addition to anyone's summer reading list."--Novel Reviews