Where Hope Prevails

series: Return to the Canadian West

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options


She leans forward for her first glimpse of the little mountain town that has captured her heart, but something has changed.

Elizabeth Thatcher's highly anticipated return to her beloved Coal Valley after a long summer with her family back east is filled with surprises . . . and not all of them good ones, in her estimation. Maybe the worst one of all relates to her treasured students. Can she adapt and learn to cope with this enormous change?

Her Mountie, Jarrick Thornton, hasn't yet proposed, but she already knows what her answer will be. His duties take him away from the valley much too often, in her view, but the two of them, with patience and understanding--and one significant misunderstanding--are learning to know each other better.

The dark cloud looming on the horizon in Beth's mind, though, is filled with questions about where their future might take them. As a member of the RCMP, Jarrick is stationed wherever his superiors send him . . . but what about her teaching position in Coal Valley?

Beth attempts to do her best with each obstacle she faces, but does she rightly assess each situation as it surfaces? Good intentions don't always lead to good results. . . .

A companion story to Hallmark Channel's When Calls the Heart TV series

The Authors

  1. Janette Oke

    Janette Oke

    Bestselling author Janette Oke is celebrated for her significant contribution to the Christian book industry. Her novels have sold more than 30 million copies, and she is the recipient of the ECPA President's Award, the CBA Life Impact Award, the Gold...

    Continue reading about Janette Oke

  2. Laurel Oke Logan

    Laurel Oke Logan

    Laurel Oke Logan, daughter of Edward and Janette Oke, is the author of several books, including Janette Oke: A Heart for the Prairie, Dana's Valley, and the Return to the Canadian West series, cowritten with her mom. Laurel has six children and...

    Continue reading about Laurel Oke Logan


"The plot is believable with some unexpected turns throughout the book. The mother-daughter team of Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan is a powerhouse, each have their unique writing style but have created a cohesive and well thought out series."

RT Book Reviews

"In Oke's typical biblical approach, Scripture resonates in the pages and as the young heroine wrestles with her own internal struggles and God's Word provides truth, guidance, and a calming balm. Recommended to all audiences, especially Oke fans."

CBA Christian Market

"This tender story will please fans of historical fiction as well as readers looking for ruminations on difficult matters of faith, forgiveness, and commitment."

Publishers Weekly

"Having followed Beth and Jarrick's relationship and Beth's teaching career through the last two books, fans will be delighted by the charming narrative and satisfying ending."

Library Journal