When the Heart Heals

A Novel

series: Sisters at Heart

Cover Art

Where to Purchase


In a country healing from war, can a young woman find healing for her heart?

Courageous and unconventional, Rosemary Saxon served as a nurse during the Civil War, a service that has caused most women in town to regard her as unfeminine and even downright vulgar. Although she would like to put that part of her life behind her, she needs to support herself. She takes a nursing position with Dr. Elijah Stewart, but whenever they are together they always seem to do or say the wrong things. When someone threatens Rosemary, will she find the courage to stand, or will she leave town—and Elijah—forever?

With tenderness and grace, Ann Shorey invites you back to the town of Noble Springs, Missouri, for an engrossing story of love’s tentative first steps and fragile future in the face of opposition.


"With mastery and grace, Ann Shorey's gentle prose woos us back to a simpler time with a simply beautiful love story. Truly, When the Heart Heals is sweet tonic for both the heart and the soul."--Julie Lessman, award-winning author of The Daughters of Boston and Winds of Change series

"When the Heart Heals is sure to grab your attention. Rosemary Saxon is a memorable heroine in an intriguing story that left me glad I'd read it and looking for more Ann Shorey novels."--Lauraine Snelling, author of The Red River series and the Wild West Wind series

The Author

  1. Ann Shorey

    Ann Shorey

    Ann Shorey is the author of the At Home in Beldon Grove series, Where Wildflowers Bloom, and When the Heart Heals. She has also published selections in the Cup of Comfort series and in Chicken Soup for the Grandma's Soul. Ann and her...

    Continue reading about Ann Shorey