The Promise of Morning

series: At Home in Beldon Grove

Cover Art

Where to Purchase


Life in Beldon Grove on the Illinois frontier in the 1840s isn't easy. For Ellie Craig, the graves of her three infant children make it unbearably lonely, despite the love of her husband Matthew. When she uncovers a family secret that suggests she may not be as alone as she thought, Ellie is determined to find the truth.

Meanwhile, Matthew Craig faces controversy in the church he pastors when a man arrives in town claiming to be both a minister and the son of the town's founder. Will Matthew find the courage to reclaim his church? Or will he return to itinerant preaching, leaving Ellie even more alone than before?

Book 2 in the At Home in Beldon Grove series, The Promise of Morning will touch your soul with themes of overcoming tragedy, finding strength to meet daunting challenges, and trusting your heart to love again.


"It's human nature to make promises we hope to keep. But sometimes life intervenes: community rhythms bump us into places we hadn't planned; families disagree and fracture; our bodies break. The Promise of Morning is a story with all those interruptions gracefully portrayed by author Ann Shorey. Through vivid characters we care about (or love to detest) and a story that keeps us turning pages, we are assured that God keeps promises in the morning, noon, and night, and loves us even when we don't. A fine read."--Jane Kirkpatrick, award-winning author of All Together in One Place and A Flickering Light

"The Promise of Morning is Ann Shorey at her best. You'll be captivated from the heartrending opening until the final courageous scenes of this true-to-life story about heartache, hope, and trust."--Bonnie Leon, author of the Sydney Cove series.

"A compelling novel dealing with timeless issues of pride, trust, love, and tragedy, The Promise of Morning by Ann Shorey is a redemptive story where true love and forgiveness conquers all. Shorey layers the fabric of her story in 1846 Illinois with rich subplots that lends itself to true depiction of harsh frontier life that will keep you turning the pages."--Maggie Brendan, author of Heart of the West series

The Author

  1. Ann Shorey

    Ann Shorey

    Ann Shorey is the author of the At Home in Beldon Grove series, Where Wildflowers Bloom, and When the Heart Heals. She has also published selections in the Cup of Comfort series and in Chicken Soup for the Grandma's Soul. Ann and her...

    Continue reading about Ann Shorey