The Mark of the King

ebook deals This title might be available for $2.99 from your favorite retailer See other ebook specials
Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options

About

"Lovers of historical fiction will be transported by this beautifully written novel of the early 18th-century frontier."--Lori Benton, award-winning author of The Wood's Edge and A Flight of Arrows

Life in This New World Requires More Strength Than She Ever Imagined

After the death of her client, midwife Julianne Chevalier is imprisoned and branded, marking her as a criminal beyond redemption. Hoping to reunite with her brother, a soldier, she trades her life sentence for exile to the fledgling French colony of Louisiana. The price of her transport, however, is a forced marriage to a fellow convict.

New Orleans is nothing like Julianne expects. The settlement is steeped in mud and mosquitoes, and there is no news of her brother, Benjamin. When tragedy strikes, she turns to military officer Marc-Paul Girard for help, but does he know more about her brother than he will admit?

With her dreams shattered, Julianne must find her way in this dangerous land, where only grace--and love--can overcome the stigma of the king's mark upon her shoulder.


Endorsements

"The Mark of the King grabbed me from the first scene and wouldn't let me go! The setting is vibrant, unique, and full of fascinating true details about the early French settlement in New Orleans. With arranged marriages, forced immigration, and struggles against starvation, the elements, and warring natives, the story is riveting. A must-read!"

Jody Hedlund, Christy Award-winning author

"A page-turner of a tale set against France's early struggles to colonize Louisiana, The Mark of the King bears all the marks of the best historical fiction--rich attention to detail, settings historically accurate and lushly depicted, a complex and layered plot, diverse cultures vividly portrayed, and the ever-present sense of the larger forces of time and place shaping the lives and destinies of characters I came to care about. The unjustly exiled Julianne is a woman to admire and cheer, the soldier Marc-Paul a man of strength and devotion. Lovers of historical fiction will be transported by this beautifully written novel of the early 18th-century frontier."

Lori Benton, award-winning author of The Wood's Edge and A Flight of Arrows


The Author

  1. Jocelyn Green
    © Catchlight Imaging

    Jocelyn Green

    Jocelyn Green inspires faith and courage as the award-winning author of ten books to date, including Wedded to War, a Christy Award finalist in 2013; Widow of Gettysburg; Yankee in Atlanta; and The 5 Love Languages Military Edition,...

    Continue reading about Jocelyn Green

Reviews

"Exquisitely penned, this look at colonial Louisiana is enhanced by Green's attention to detail, creating memorable characters and vivid scenes. . . . Rich with history and redemption, Green's latest is ideal for fans of Lynn Austin or Laura Frantz."

RT Book Reviews

"This novel of judgment and redemption tells a gripping tale where God's grace prevails."

Christian Market

"Readers will be swept away by the themes of faith and redemption woven throughout the narrative as well as the alluring protagonists and setting. Fans of Beth White's Gulf Coast Chronicles, Lynn Austin, and Susan Meissner will enjoy."

Library Journal

"The 18th-century Old and New Worlds burst off the pages in the latest historical fiction treasure from Green. . . . Readers can only hope for more from this talented, spiritually insightful author."

Publishers Weekly starred review

"This book provides a perfect mixture of action, suspense, and non-sappy romance."

World Magazine


Resources