Phoebe's Light

series: Nantucket Legacy

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options


Phoebe Starbuck has always adjusted her sails and rudder to the whims of her father. Now, for the first time, she's doing what she wants to do: marrying Captain Phineas Foulger and sailing far away from Nantucket. As she leaves on her grand adventure, her father gives her two gifts, both of which Phoebe sees little need for. The first is an old sheepskin journal from Great Mary, her highly revered great-grandmother. The other is a "minder" on the whaling ship in the form of cooper Matthew Mitchell, a man whom she loathes.

Soon Phoebe discovers that life at sea is no easier than life on land. Lonely, seasick, and disillusioned, she turns the pages of Great Mary's journal and finds herself drawn into the life of this noble woman. To Phoebe's shock, her great-grandmother has left a secret behind that carries repercussions for everyone aboard the ship, especially her husband the captain and her shadow the cooper. This story within a story catapults Phoebe into seeing her life in an entirely new way--just in time.

In this brand-new series, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher brings her signature twists and turns to bear on a fascinating new faith community: the Quakers of colonial-era Nantucket Island.


"Phoebe's Light is another work of art and heart by Suzanne Woods Fisher; a beautifully told tale that honors the early Quakers of colonial Massachusetts and their rich heritage on unique, lovely Nantucket Island. Inspired by actual historical figures, these characters and this place meld into a remarkably poignant page-turner. An inspiring start to what is sure to be a beloved series!"

Laura Frantz, author of The Lacemaker

"Set sail on an absorbing adventure with Fisher's delightful new book, Phoebe's Light. Fisher brings to life Nantucket Island with her vivid descriptions and true-to-life characters. Shedding light upon Quaker customs and beliefs as well as the whaling era, Fisher plunges her readers into turbulent waters with plenty of plot twists and intrigue that lead to a satisfying conclusion."

Jody Hedlund, author of Luther & Katharina, Christy Award winner

"You can always trust Suzanne Woods Fisher to write a compelling story that has readers turning pages as fast as they can to see what happens next. She's done it again with Phoebe's Light, a surefire mix of engaging characters, fascinating Nantucket Island history, and even a whaling trip on the high seas. If you like romance mixed with history and adventure, you're going to love Phoebe's Light."

Ann H. Gabhart, bestselling author of These Healing Hills

The Author

  1. Suzanne Woods Fisher
    © Dan Davis Photography

    Suzanne Woods Fisher

    Suzanne Woods Fisher is an award-winning, bestselling author of more than two dozen novels, including Anna's Crossing, The Newcomer, and The Return in the Amish Beginnings series, The Bishop's Family series, and The Inn at Eagle Hill...

    Continue reading about Suzanne Woods Fisher