Minor Prophets I

series: Understanding the Bible Commentary Series

Cover Art

Where to Purchase


Expert help for understanding the Bible

Each volume in the Understanding the Bible Commentary Series breaks down the barriers between the ancient and modern worlds so that the power and meaning of the biblical texts become transparent to contemporary readers. They present a careful section-by-section exposition of the biblical books with key terms and phrases highlighted and all Hebrew transliterated. Notes at the close of each chapter provide additional textual and technical comments for those who want to dig deeper. A bibliography as well as Scripture and subject indexes are also included. Pastors, students, and Bible teachers will find in this series a commitment to accessibility without sacrificing serious scholarship.

This volume includes commentary on the first six books of the Minor Prophets: Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, and Micah. Though varied in setting, style, audience, and theme, these books share at least one commonality: each is an important message from God. With interpretive skill and theological passion, Achtemeier helps the reader see the importance of these messages for today.


"Professor Achtemeier is long established as a reliable, insightful interpreter of Scripture. And here she has ample textual material wherein she demonstrates, once again, her skill as an interpreter. . . . Achtemeier's theological passion is evident throughout, as she stays close to the canonical accents of judgment and hope. It is unmistakable that there is a close fit between the urgings of the prophetic texts and Achtemeier's own theological concerns. The convergence is a happy one that provides a useful, trustworthy study that exposits the main issues of Israel's faith."--Walter Brueggemann, Columbia Theological Seminary

The Author

  1. Elizabeth Achtemeier

    Elizabeth Achtemeier

    Elizabeth Achtemeier was adjunct professor of Bible and homiletics at Union Theological Seminary in Virginia. She was the author of a number of books, including Nature, God, and Pulpit and Preaching from the Old Testament.

    Continue reading about Elizabeth Achtemeier