Heart's Safe Passage

A Novel

series: Midwives, The

Cover Art

Where to Purchase


One woman takes the treacherous journey toward redemption . . . and love.

All Phoebe Lee wants out of life is to practice midwifery in Loudon County, Virginia. But when she refuses to accompany her pregnant sister-in-law to help save her husband from an English prison during the War of 1812, Phoebe finds herself pressed aboard a British privateer.

Captain Rafe Docherty promises to get Phoebe's brother-in-law out of prison in exchange for information Rafe needs to exact revenge on the man who destroyed his family. As he realizes his attraction to Phoebe, she determines to get ashore before her patient goes into labor--and before her own heart is in danger. But an enemy in their midst threatens to end their plans--and their very lives.


"In her delightful and descriptive style, author Laurie Alice Eakes has once again crafted a story that will capture readers' hearts from the first page. Her tales are both exciting and tender, and her characters speak to us right where they are, despite the different cultural and time settings. Heart's Safe Passage may well be her greatest offering to date."--Kathi Macias, author of Deliver Me from Evil and A Christmas Journey Home

"I'm still thinking about the characters in Heart's Safe Passage, the new novel from Laurie Alice Eakes. Her turn of phrase and twist of a plot had me smiling long after the last page was turned. Eakes has crafted a don't-miss story. Well done!"--Kathleen Y'Barbo, author of The Inconvenient Marriage of Charlotte Beck

"In Heart's Safe Passage, Laurie Alice Eakes takes her readers on a heartrending high-seas adventure back to the 1800s, where they'll smile and cry, cheer for the good guys, and boo the bad guys. Make room for this one on your 'keepers' shelf!"--Loree Lough, author of From Ashes to Honor

"Heart's Safe Passage is the finest kind of fiction. Not only does it take the reader on a high-seas adventure, it also explores the bounty and suffering of the human heart. I loved it!"--Victoria Bylin, 2010 ACFW Carol Award finalist; author of The Outlaw's Return

"A book that will move you deeply, a love story that rises and falls with the turbulent seas, and two people wounded by life who need God's healing before they can embrace the love melding their hearts together. Adventurous, moving, and passionate, Laurie's books never disappoint!"--MaryLu Tyndall, Christy Award nominee and author of the Surrender to Destiny series

The Author

  1. Laurie Alice Eakes

    Laurie Alice Eakes

    Laurie Alice Eakes is the author of Lady in the Mist, Heart's Safe Passage, A Necessary Deception, A Flight of Fancy, and several other novels. She won a National Readers Choice Award for Best Regency in 2007 for Family Guardian. Laurie...

    Continue reading about Laurie Alice Eakes