A Mosaic of Wings

ebook deals This title might be available for $1.99 from your favorite retailer See other ebook specials
Cover Art

Where to Purchase

About

"A Mosaic of Wings inspires and entertains. This is one novel you won't want to miss!"--Laura Frantz, Christy Award-winning author

Nora Shipley has one goal--to carry on the legacy of her late father by taking over the scientific journal he started. To that end, she's fought to be taken seriously among her male classmates and graduate as valedictorian of Cornell's entomology program. When pressures to settle down rise to a fever pitch, she impulsively joins a research expedition in Kodaikanal, India, to prove herself in the field and win a scholarship.

But India holds several surprises--she is impressed not only by the beauty of its natural wonders, but also by the gentle nature she discovers in the rival classmate who accompanied her, Owen Epps. Instead of exploring, however, she is forced by the expedition leader to stay at camp and illustrate exotic butterflies the men of the team find without her. During the many quiet days, Nora befriends Sita, a young Indian girl who has been dedicated to a goddess against her will.

In this spellbinding new land, Nora is soon faced with impossible choices--between saving Sita and saving her career, and between what she's always thought she wanted and the man she's come to love.

"Duffy is an author to watch. She presents a unique look at society's expectations for women in two different cultures in the late 19th century. . . . This historical romance is recommended for readers of Tracie Peterson and Jody Hedlund."--Library Journal

"In this exceptional novel, Duffy tells a powerful story about personal transformation and legacy. From the picturesque falls of Upstate New York to stunning sites in India, Duffy shines in elegant, flowing prose and delicate precision that underscores the nineteenth-century setting. A Mosaic of Wings examines the rhythm of change, the sense of loss that accompanies a passing season, and fear and excitement of journeying into the unknown. Science, culture, and romance intersect enjoyably in Duffy's tale of academia, while the tensions of gender and social norms circa 1885 add complexity to her memorable characters." - Booklist starred review

"A nineteenth-century entomologist is caught between social expectations and desire in Kimberly Duffy's A Mosaic of Wings, a novel about wanderlust and women's empowerment. . . . India's allure is captured with appreciative details of its spices and embroidered saris. . . . A Mosaic of Wings is a religious romance that pays tribute to trailblazers and field research as a captivating, down-to-earth bluestocking dares to let her own dreams take flight."--Foreword Reviews

"The excursions through the Indian landscape and late 1800s Ithaca, New York, are well detailed and enchanting. . . . The stakes are high, and so are the emotions surrounding the choices Nora makes. The book had its hooks in me early on with its trailblazing female lead and her captivating uphill climb. Recommended."--Historical Novels Review


Endorsements

"A Mosaic of Wings is a beautifully rendered historical novel of depth and emotion. I hope you find it and its heroine as captivating as I have. I'm predicting this is the first of many for this emerging fiction talent."

Jerry B. Jenkins, novelist, biographer, and founder of the Jerry Jenkins Writers Guild

"Nora Shipley isn't your average historical romance heroine. She is an entomologist--a corset-wearing, nineteenth-century graduate of Cornell University who is fascinated by bugs. This unique premise had me eager to dig into A Mosaic of Wings. Painful mistakes, romance, adventure, courage, and an endearing hero kept me engaged and turning those pages until the very satisfying end. An excellent first novel by Kimberly Duffy."

Tessa Afshar, award-winning author of Daughter of Rome

"Grab a cup of masala tea and journey to exotic India in the company of two unforgettable characters who learn that love isn't always what it seems and choices have consequences beyond their wildest dreams. A Mosaic of Wings inspires, educates, and entertains. This is one debut novel you won't want to miss!"

Laura Frantz, Christy Award-winning author of An Uncommon Woman

"This vivid, vibrant tale is a powerful journey that will challenge the reader's heart, mind, and soul."

Kristi Ann Hunter, RITA Award-winning author of A Pursuit of Home


The Author

  1. Kimberly Duffy
    © Laura Hicks Photography

    Kimberly Duffy

    Kimberly Duffy (www.kimberlyduffy.com) is a Long Island native currently living in Southwest Ohio, via six months in India. When she's not homeschooling her four kids, she writes historical fiction that takes her readers back in time and across oceans. She...

    Continue reading about Kimberly Duffy

Reviews

"A nineteenth-century entomologist is caught between social expectations and desire in Kimberly Duffy's A Mosaic of Wings, a novel about wanderlust and women's empowerment. . . . India's allure is captured with appreciative details of its spices and embroidered saris. . . . A Mosaic of Wings is a religious romance that pays tribute to trailblazers and field research as a captivating, down-to-earth bluestocking dares to let her own dreams take flight."

Foreword Reviews

"In this exceptional novel, Duffy tells a powerful story about personal transformation and legacy. From the picturesque falls of Upstate New York to stunning sites in India, Duffy shines in elegant, flowing prose and delicate precision that underscores the nineteenth-century setting. A Mosaic of Wings examines the rhythm of change, the sense of loss that accompanies a passing season, and fear and excitement of journeying into the unknown. Science, culture, and romance intersect enjoyably in Duffy's tale of academia, while the tensions of gender and social norms circa 1885 add complexity to her memorable characters."

Booklist starred review

"Duffy is an author to watch. She presents a unique look at society's expectations for women in two different cultures in the late 19th century. . . . This historical romance is recommended for readers of Tracie Peterson and Jody Hedlund."

Library Journal

"The excursions through the Indian landscape and late 1800s Ithaca, New York, are well detailed and enchanting. . . . The stakes are high, and so are the emotions surrounding the choices Nora makes. The book had its hooks in me early on with its trailblazing female lead and her captivating uphill climb. Recommended."

Historical Novels Review


Resources