A Lancaster County Christmas

Cover Art

Where to Purchase


"Fisher weaves a touching story of hope and renewal when two worlds collide at Christmastime."--Mary Ann Kinsinger, A Joyful Chaos blog

Mattie Riehl was hoping to give her husband, Sol, the Christmas gift they have both longed for--news that a baby was on the way. But as usual, she is disappointed. The holidays bring an acute awareness to Mattie that her dream of a big Amish family isn't likely to become a reality. Will those empty chairs at the table ever be filled?

Then a winter storm raging outside blows an impatient young woman and her husband into the Riehl home on Christmas Eve--and into a much slower pace of life.

Both couples are about to find out if they can weather the storm--and if miracles still happen at Christmastime.


"Fisher weaves a touching story of hope and renewal when two worlds collide at Christmas time."--Mary Ann Kinsinger, popular blogger at A Joyful Chaos

The Author

  1. Suzanne Woods Fisher
    © Dan Davis Photography

    Suzanne Woods Fisher

    Suzanne Woods Fisher is the award-winning, bestselling author of more than 30 books, including The Moonlight School, Anything but Plain, The Sweet Life, and The Secret to Happiness, as well as the Three Sisters Island,...

    Continue reading about Suzanne Woods Fisher


Praise for Lancaster County Secrets:

The Choice

"Fisher's writing brings that Amish sense of peace into your own world."--Kristin Billerbeck, author of What a Girl Wants

"Fisher writes with a fresh mix of humor and depth, splashing raw emotion onto the pages."--Ginger Kolbaba, founding editor of Kyria.com; former editor of Today's Christian Woman; author of Desperate Pastors' Wives

"Fisher kicks off a refreshing new series, Lancaster County Secrets, with characters that are strong, both in body and spirit."--Romantic Times

The Waiting

"More than just a story of the Amish, The Waiting is the story of a woman, sometimes triumphant, sometimes struggling, carried through turbulent times by a plain faith."--Lisa Wingate, national bestselling author of Tending Roses and Never Say Never

"Fisher takes the sweet story expected in Amish fiction and adds a kick of realism."--Sarah Sundin, author of Wings of Glory series

The Search

"This pleasant tale of love and forgiveness has a homespun feel that will attract readers who like character-driven stories with a relaxed pace."--Library Journal

"I love the humor and the surprising twists and turns in this story. There is love, forgiveness, and ultimately restoration and the healing it brings. It's a heartwarming story you'll love!"--Five Star Books

"A story of hurt, heartache, love, and forgiveness with characters of depth and substance who not only learn to deal with their own lives in a godly way, but show us how to do the same. Well worth the read."--Author's Choice Reviews

"Fans both old and new will find themselves immersed in this heartwarming--and surprising--tale of young love, forgiveness, and coming to grips with the past."--Family Fiction Magazine