A Christmas by the Sea

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

About

Wendy couldn't believe she was standing here discussing toilets with a perfect stranger. Not
that he was perfect--although he
was rather attractive. But he was obviously enjoying her discomfort a bit too much.

He eased the bulky box from the shelf and onto the floor, leaning it against his leg. "So . . . you're new in town?"

"Not exactly." She watched as he easily picked up the container. Was he trying to be friendly or actually hitting on her?

When Wendy Harper inherits her family's beachside cottage in Seaside, Maine, she sees it as a way to finally pay off the debts that have mounted since her husband died. Her twelve-year-old son Jackson sees it as an exciting new start in a life that has grown rather gray without his father.

Before it can be sold, the neglected property must be renovated. Wendy and Jackson move in--temporarily, she reminds him--in order to fix the place up before Christmas. But the charming town, along with local craftsman Caleb Colton, pulls on Wendy. She knows that the most responsible thing to do is to sell the cottage and return to Ohio, but the lure of the sea--and a fresh start--is hard to resist.


Why Readers Love Melody Carlson's Christmas Stories

"Delightful prose and an affirming resolution will please readers."--Publishers Weekly on The Christmas Blessing

"A deftly crafted, consistently entertaining, and ultimately inspiring story of love, hardship, and reconciliation that will leave readers filled with Christmas joy."--The Midwest Book Review on The Christmas Blessing

"Carlson's latest holiday offering is sure to become a fan favorite! Full of hope, it embodies all that is beloved about the Christmas season."--RT Book Reviews on The Christmas Angel Project

"No one captures the heartwarming fun of the Christmas season quite like Melody Carlson."--USA Today on The Christmas Joy Ride


Melody Carlson is the award-winning author of over two hundred books with combined sales of more than six million. She is the author of many Christmas books, including the bestselling The Christmas Bus, The Christmas Dog, Christmas at Harrington's, The Christmas Cat, The Christmas Joy Ride, The Christmas Angel Project, and The Christmas Blessing. She received a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award in the inspirational market for her many books, including the Diary of a Teenage Girl series and Finding Alice. She and her husband live in central Oregon. Learn more at www.melodycarlson.com.


The Author

  1. Melody Carlson

    Melody Carlson

    Melody Carlson is the award-winning author of over 200 books with sales of more than 7 million, including many bestselling Christmas novellas, young adult titles, and contemporary romances. She received a Romantic Times Career Achievement Award in the...

    Continue reading about Melody Carlson

Reviews

Praise for The Christmas Blessing

"Delightful prose and an affirming resolution will please readers."--Publishers Weekly

"Novelist Melody Carlson has written a deftly crafted, consistently entertaining, and ultimately inspiring story of love, hardship, and reconciliation that will leave readers filled with Christmas joy."--The Midwest Book Review

Praise for The Christmas Angel Project

"Carlson's latest holiday offering is sure to become a fan favorite! Full of hope, it embodies all that is beloved about the Christmas season."--RT Book Reviews

Praise for The Christmas Joy Ride

"No one captures the heartwarming fun of the Christmas season quite like Melody Carlson."--USA Today

"Popular and seasoned author Carlson skillfully draws readers into the lives of her characters; they, too, will feel like they are traveling along Route 66. Fans of Robin Jones Gunn and Catherine Palmer will surely find themselves snatching this quick Christmas read off the shelves."--Library Journal

"Uplifting and meaningful."--RT Book Reviews


Resources