When the Day Comes

series: Timeless

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options

About

How will she choose, knowing all she must sacrifice?

Libby has been given a powerful gift: to live one life in 1774 Colonial Williamsburg and the other in 1914 Gilded Age New York City. When she falls asleep in one life, she wakes up in the other. While she's the same person at her core in both times, she's leading two vastly different lives.

In Colonial Williamsburg, Libby is a public printer for the House of Burgesses and the Royal Governor, trying to provide for her family and support the Patriot cause. The man she loves, Henry Montgomery, has his own secrets. As the revolution draws near, both their lives--and any hope of love--are put in jeopardy.

Libby's life in 1914 New York is filled with wealth, drawing room conversations, and bachelors. But the only work she cares about--women's suffrage--is discouraged, and her mother is intent on marrying her off to an English marquess. The growing talk of war in Europe only complicates matters.

But Libby knows she's not destined to live two lives forever. On her twenty-first birthday, she must choose one path and forfeit the other--but how can she choose when she has so much to lose in each life?


Endorsements

Gabrielle Meyer's When the Day Comes is very intriguing--such a fresh, creative premise! The drama builds with each page, and I could not wait to see how it would all turn out. Fans of history, romance, or time travel will adore this book.

Julie Klassen, bestselling author

When the Day Comes is a historical feast, spanning two centuries and showcasing the burdens and blessings of both the Gilded Age and Colonial America. A seamless blend of choices and chances celebrating the enduring spirit of a woman faced with a remarkable future, this first book in the Timeless series is a lovely and memorable time-crossing feat.

Laura Frantz, Christy Award-winning author of A Heart Adrift

With rich historical details and a riveting conundrum, When the Day Comes had me glued to the pages, the story tugging at my heart and lingering with me long after the last page. A triumph of a story!

Susan May Warren, USA Today bestselling author of Sunrise

A riveting, exceptional hook bolstered by a beguiling authorial voice, When the Day Comes eases readers into two startlingly different and brilliantly researched historical periods. Meyer's effective historical voice binds readers to a remarkable woman whose courageous propensity to love is balanced by her decision and willingness to commit to life's truest calling. Fans of Heidi Chiavaroli and Roseanna White will be clamoring for more.

Rachel McMillan, author of The London Restoration and The Mozart Code

A unique take on the time-travel novel, When the Day Comes will have readers losing track of time in their own lives from the first page until they close the book with a sigh of satisfaction. A guaranteed book-hangover, as the story lingers in the mind long after the conclusion.

Erica Vetsch, author of the Thorndike & Swann Regency Mysteries


The Author

  1. Gabrielle Meyer

    Gabrielle Meyer

    Gabrielle Meyer (www.gabriellemeyer.com) has worked for state and local historical societies and loves writing fiction inspired by real people, places, and events. She currently resides along the banks of the Mississippi River in central Minnesota with her...

    Continue reading about Gabrielle Meyer

Reviews

"Like many readers, I have a weakness for time-travel novels, and this one adds an extra layer of intrigue. The history is particularly vivid. . . The clean, straightforward writing delivers an exciting, page-turning plot, filled with fascinating history. Embedded in the story is a strong religious theme, but even readers who are not particularly religious should find this book an engaging and fun read."

Historical Novels Review


Resources