Veiled in Smoke

series: Windy City Saga, The

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

About

The Flames Took So Much.
She Can't Lose Her Father As Well.

Meg Townsend and her sister, Sylvie, seek a quiet existence managing the family bookshop. Meg feels responsible for caring for their father, Stephen, whose spirit and health are both damaged from his time as a prisoner during the Civil War. Her one escape is the paintings she creates and sells in the bookshop.

Then the Great Fire sweeps through Chicago's business district. The fiery explosions and chaos stir up memories of war for Stephen as he runs from the blaze and becomes separated from his daughters. Days later, when the smoke has cleared, Meg and Sylvie manage to reunite with him. Their home and shop are lost, and what's left among the ashes may be even more threatening than the flames, for they learn that a close friend was murdered the night of the fire--and Stephen has been charged with the crime. After he is committed to the Cook County Insane Asylum, where they cannot visit him, Stephen feels as lost to them as the shop that now lies in rubble.

Though homeless and suddenly unemployed, Meg must not only gather the pieces of her shattered life but prove the truth of what happened that night, before the asylum truly drives her father mad.

"Christy Award-winner Green sets this tumultuous, affecting tale against the backdrop of the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. . . . Green engagingly weaves subtle faith elements into the mystery and romance. Fans of Lisa Wingate will enjoy this."--Publishers Weekly

"History, mystery, romance, and faith combine in the first book in the Christy Award-winning Green's Windy City Saga. Recommend to readers who enjoy Lisa Wingate and Elizabeth Camden."--Booklist

"With strong supporting characters and historical facts woven throughout, Veiled in Smoke makes for a great read."--BookPage


Endorsements

"A powerful and compelling novel about one family's dramatic resurrection after the devastation of the Chicago fire."

Elizabeth Camden, author, The Spice King

"Veiled in Smoke offers a story line that draws the reader into the personal lives and historical events of nineteenth-century Chicago on the eve of the Great Fire. Jocelyn Green is a masterful storyteller who understands the power of the narrative tale and its impact on historical reality."

Kevin Doerksen, CTG; owner, Wild Onion Walks Chicago; president, Chicago Tour Guide Professionals Association

"In Veiled in Smoke, Green frames a story of loss and redemption with sensory details, a nuanced historical backdrop, and an intelligent eye for flawed and utterly engaging characters. Shadows of the ongoing War Between the States as well as a deep literary resonance underscore what is, at its core, a study of the fallacies and strengths of the human heart. Green's eye for suspense is coupled with her passion for an American city on the rise. A thoroughly enriching and thoughtful reading experience by an absolute master of inspirational fiction."

Rachel McMillan, author, Murder in the City of Liberty


The Author

  1. Jocelyn Green
    © Double-Wide Design

    Jocelyn Green

    Jocelyn Green (www.jocelyngreen.com) inspires faith and courage as the award-winning and bestselling author of numerous fiction and nonfiction books, including The Mark of the King, Wedded to War, and The 5 Love Languages...

    Continue reading about Jocelyn Green

Reviews

"Christy Award-winner Green sets this tumultuous, affecting tale against the backdrop of the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. . . . Green engagingly weaves subtle faith elements into the mystery and romance. Fans of Lisa Wingate will enjoy this."

Publishers Weekly

"History, mystery, romance, and faith combine in the first book in the Christy Award-winning Green's Windy City Saga. Recommend to readers who enjoy Lisa Wingate and Elizabeth Camden."

Booklist

"With strong supporting characters and historical facts woven throughout, Veiled in Smoke makes for a great read."

BookPage


Resources