The House on Foster Hill

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options

About

"The suspense grips early, holds fast, and doesn't let the reader go until the last satisfying page."
--Kristy Cambron, bestselling author of The Lost Castle and the Hidden Masterpiece series

"Riveting! An outstanding novel from an author to watch."
--Jocelyn Green, award-winning author of The Mark of the King

"Jaime Jo Wright is an amazing storyteller who had me on the edge of my seat, turning pages and reading as fast as I could to get to the end of the book!"
--Tracie Peterson, bestselling author of The Heart of the Frontier series 

Kaine Prescott is no stranger to death. When her husband died two years ago, her pleas for further investigation into his suspicious demise fell on deaf ears. In desperate need of a fresh start, Kaine purchases an old house sight unseen in her grandfather's Wisconsin hometown. But one look at the eerie, abandoned house immediately leaves her questioning her rash decision. And when the house's dark history comes back with a vengeance, Kaine is forced to face the terrifying realization she has nowhere left to hide.

A century earlier, the house on Foster Hill holds nothing but painful memories for Ivy Thorpe. When an unidentified woman is found dead on the property, Ivy is compelled to discover her identity. Ivy's search leads her into dangerous waters, resurrecting painful memories and forcing a reunion with the man who broke her heart. Can Ivy unravel the mystery and find a renewed hope before any other lives--including her own--are lost?

Jaime Jo Wright is the Publishers Weekly and ECPA bestselling author of two novellas, and a human resources director by trade. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband and two children. The House on Foster Hill is her debut novel. To learn more, visit jaimewrightbooks.com.


Endorsements

"A mystery from over a hundred years ago intertwines with one from the present in this spellbinding tale by Jaime Jo Wright. Rich characterization and intricate plotting combine to make this novel unputdownable. This one will fly off the shelves as readers discover the very talented Wright. Highly recommended!"

Colleen Coble, USA Today bestselling author of the Sunset Cove series

"With a fresh voice and steady pacing, Jaime Jo Wright claims a noteworthy spot on the favorites shelf with her time-split novel debut. At once haunting and romantic . . . The House on Foster Hill redefines historical mystery with a CSI-worthy storyline, and in Ivy Thorpe introduces a heroine who anchors past to the present with an artful marriage of vocational skill, determination, and the underpinnings of faith. The suspense grips early, holds fast, and doesn't let the reader go until the last satisfying page."

Kristy Cambron, bestselling author of The Lost Castle and the Hidden Masterpiece series

"Looking for a historical suspense that will have you rooting for the dual heroines from first introduction? It's all in The House on Foster Hill. Wright's true-to-life characters get under your skin, and you can't help but keep turning the pages to find out what happens. Perfect pacing with a tightly knit plot makes this a perfect read for any suspense lover's heart. Highly recommend."

Robin Caroll, author of the critically acclaimed Bayou series

"Riveting! With its dual storyline connected by a single house and the women it touched, Jaime Jo Wright delivers double the suspense, double the romance, and double the reasons to keep turning the pages far into the night. The House on Foster Hill has it all: robust characters, twists I didn't predict, sky-high stakes, and a strong thread of hope hemming it all together. An outstanding novel from an author to watch."

Jocelyn Green, award-winning author of The Mark of the King

"In a riveting collision of past and present, Jaime Jo Wright pens an unforgettable story of legacy and loss. Threads of time are intricately woven through The House on Foster Hill, luring readers into its haunting passages and daring them to escape a darkness that has long lingered in the world. Wright is an author to watch, and one who will quickly become formidable!"

Ronie Kendig, bestselling author of Conspiracy of Silence

"In the tradition of Wilkie Collins and Daphne DuMaurier, Wright keeps the Gothic pace strong in both past and present in this brilliantly interconnected time-slip novel. With surprising prose, not to mention an alluring romance, readers will shiver with suspense and delight. Two formidable heroines balance out twists and turns that will keep the reader guessing until the very end."

Rachel McMillan, author of The White Feather Murders

"With dual plotlines that collide in the spooky house on Foster Hill, Jaime Wright has created a story that will delight historical and contemporary mystery readers. There are hints of romance, suspense, and intrigue that kept me engaged with a story that had characters I quickly cared about. I needed to know how Ivy and Kaine's stories connected and how they would be resolved. This dual-timeline story will delight readers of Kristy Cambron's Hidden Masterpiece series and Rachel Hauck's The Wedding Dress."

Cara Putman, award-winning author of Shadowed by Grace and Beyond Justice

"From the memorable opening line to the last scene, which gives me chills, Jaime Jo Wright's debut is a well-crafted novel of suspense and romance, weaving through the past and present seamlessly. It's the perfect book for rainy day reading, and it's one I highly recommend."

Sarah Varland, romantic suspense author

"Eerily, hauntingly brilliant! The House on Foster Hill makes you want to keep your lights on, and turning pages, long into the night. An absolute must-read!"

Elizabeth Ludwig, author of Tide and Tempest

"Jaime Jo Wright is an amazing storyteller who had me on the edge of my seat, turning pages and reading as fast as I could to get to the end of the book! The House on Foster Hill is a masterfully told story with layers and layers of mystery and intrigue, with a little romance thrown in for good measure. The adventure takes the reader back and forth through time weaving the content like a tapestry--revealing a little bit more of the design with each chapter until the story is complete. I'll be excited to read more from this author."

Tracie Peterson, bestselling author of The Heart of the Frontier series 


The Author

  1. Jaime Jo Wright

    Jaime Jo Wright

    Jaime Jo Wright is the Publishers Weekly and ECPA bestselling author of two novellas, and a human resources director by trade. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband and two children, and The House on Foster Hill is her debut novel. Find her...

    Continue reading about Jaime Jo Wright

Reviews

"Jaime Jo Wright's The House on Foster Hill blends the past and present in a gripping mystery that explores faith and the sins of ancestors. . . . Connections are made at an ideal pace, and clues scattered throughout give the perfect amount of information. . . . Characters are savvy yet vulnerable, and their continual quests for hope in the midst of darkness are appealingly inspirational. Deep emotional struggles are the backbone of the novel and make the corresponding mystery even more engaging. With sharp dialogue and plenty of scares, this is a gripping tale that never loses sight of the light at the end of the tunnel."

Foreword Reviews

"Headed by two strong female protagonists, Wright's debut is a lushly detailed time-slip novel that transitions seamlessly between past and present, leading to the revelation of some surprising family secrets that someone would kill to protect. Readers who enjoy Colleen Coble and Dani Pettrey will be intrigued by this suspenseful mystery."

Library Journal


Resources