The Extraordinary Deaths of Mrs. Kip

A Novel

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options

About

A throwaway assignment is about to change two lives forever

Aidyn Kelley is talented, ambitious, and ready for a more serious assignment than the fluff pieces she's been getting as a cub reporter for the Kansas City Star. In her eagerness, she pushes too hard, earning herself the menial task of writing an obituary for an unremarkable woman who's just entered hospice care.

But there's more to Clara Kip than meets the eye. The spirited septuagenarian may be dying, but she's not quite ready to cash it in yet. Never one to shy away from an assignment herself, she can see that God brought the young reporter into her life for a reason. And if it's a story Aidyn Kelley wants, that's just what Mrs. Kip will give her--but she's going to have to work for it.

"Winsome and wise, this thoughtful story of an unlikely friendship between two women will stick with you long after you finish the last page. Oh, if I could only be like Mrs. Kip as I grow old!"--Suzanne Woods Fisher, bestselling author of On a Summer Tide

"Just as I was craving an uplifting novel, Mrs. Clara Kip entered my life. Grab some tissues and hunker down. Once you start reading you won't want to stop."--Susie Finkbeiner, author of The Nature of Small Birds and My Mother's Chamomile

"An unforgettable read. Sara Brunsvold has captured the essence of what can happen when love, grace, mercy, and God's Word are the gifts extended to those we meet on our journey through life."--Judith Miller, award-winning author of A Perfect Silhouette


Endorsements

"A dying stranger radically alters the life of an ambitious young journalist in this remarkable debut novel by Sara Brunsvold. Winsome and wise, this thoughtful story of an unlikely friendship between two women will stick with you long after you finish the last page. Oh, if I could only be like Mrs. Kip as I grow old!"

Suzanne Woods Fisher, bestselling author of On a Summer Tide

"Just as I was craving an uplifting novel, Mrs. Clara Kip entered my life. Sara Brunsvold's inspiring debut invited me into the world of the characters to bear witness to their joys and heartaches, their gains and losses, their lives and deaths. Readers who enjoy Katie Powner and Lisa Samson will want to get their hands on The Extraordinary Deaths of Mrs. Kip. Grab some tissues and hunker down. Once you start reading you won't want to stop."

Susie Finkbeiner, author of The Nature of Small Birds and My Mother's Chamomile

"You don't want to miss this beautifully crafted generational story that weaves together the lives of two women in an unforgettable read. Sara Brunsvold has captured the essence of what can happen when love, grace, mercy, and God's Word are the gifts extended to those we meet on our journey through life."

Judith Miller, award-winning author of A Perfect Silhouette

"In Sara Brunsvold's poignant yet inspiring novel, Mrs. Clara Kip is dying to show that living well means loving well--and dying well, if she has her way. In her story, Brunsvold writes, 'The Lord will give you all the words you need. It's not about whether they sound pretty.' And her words are more than pretty. They're beautiful, impactful, and adeptly written and will touch the reader in heart-deep places."

Robin W. Pearson, award-winning author of A Long Time Comin' and Walking in Tall Weeds

"Sara Brunsvold's debut has a big heart, just like Mrs. Kip. As someone who has spent countless hours in care homes and hospice situations, I loved reading a book that brought such tenderness and respect to the end-of-life experience. The Extraordinary Deaths of Mrs. Kip gently teaches that even in death there is much to learn about life. A thoughtful and touching read."

Katie Powner, author of The Sowing Season and A Flicker of Light

"Sara Brunsvold's debut is a delight. She weaves stories that draw the reader in with an investment in the final outcome. Her characters are rich with individual personalities. Sara is a writer to watch."

Christina Suzann Nelson, Christy Award-winning author of The Way It Should Be


The Author

  1. Sara Brunsvold
    Amelia Layton

    Sara Brunsvold

    Sara Brunsvold creates stories that speak hope, truth, and life. Influenced by humble women of God who find his fingerprints in the everyday, she does the same in her life and her storytelling. Sara's recognitions include the 2020 ACFW Genesis Award for...

    Continue reading about Sara Brunsvold


Resources


Media

Book Trailer