Counter Attack

series: Pearl River

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options


A brand new heart-stopping series from a USA Today bestselling author

No sooner has Alexis Stone been sworn in as the interim sheriff for Russell County, Tennessee, when a serial killer dubbed the Queen's Gambit Killer strikes again--this time in her hometown. Pearl Springs is just supposed to be a temporary stop along the way to Alex's real dream: becoming the first female police chief of Chattanooga. But the killer's calling card--a white pawn and a note with a chess move printed on it--cannot be ignored.

Pearl Springs chief of police Nathan Landry can't believe that his high school sweetheart Alexis (he refuses to call her Alex) is back in town, and he can't help wanting to protect the woman he never stopped loving. But as the danger mounts and the killer closes in, can Nathan come through on the promises he makes to himself to bring a killer to justice before it's too late.


"What a great read! I thoroughly enjoyed this fast-paced romantic suspense from Patricia Bradley. Infused with tension that comes with the search for a killer, this book will have readers flipping the pages late into the night to find out what happens."

Lynette Eason, bestselling, award-winning author of the Danger Never Sleeps series

"If you like your romantic suspense to include a twisted villain, a deadly plot, and a second chance at love, look no further than Counter Attack. This first novel in the new Pearl River series from Patricia Bradley ticked all the right boxes for me. I couldn't put it down!"

Lynn H. Blackburn, bestselling author of the Defend and Protect series

"Checkmate! Patricia Bradley hits the mark again in this fast-paced, high-stakes suspense you won't be able to put down!"

Natalie Walters, award-winning author of Lights Out and Harbored Secrets

"Counter Attack grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go until the end. The story plays out like a fast-paced chess game, with plenty of action and red herrings to ratchet up the suspense. The sweet reunion romance between the hero and heroine has you rooting for them as the mystery deepens. You won't want to miss this explosive beginning to a new series by Patricia Bradley."

Sarah Hamaker, award-winning author of the Cold War Legacy series

"Memorable characters and a very unique plot guarantee that readers won't be able to put down Patricia Bradley's Counter Attack until the satisfying conclusion."

Susan Sleeman, bestselling and award-winning author of over forty-five faith-filled romantic suspense novels

"Patricia Bradley once more proves she is a master in the romantic suspense genre with Counter Attack, book 1 of her new Pearl River series. The book hits the ground running as Chief Deputy Alexis Stone and Police Chief Nathan Landry work together despite their troubled past to catch a serial killer known as the Queen's Gambit Killer. The simmering romance between these two main characters as well as the danger of a killer on the loose will keep readers glued to the pages until the surprising end. Highly recommended!"

Mary Alford, author of Among the Innocent

"Counter Attack is a well-crafted novel about a chess-obsessed serial killer. Patricia Bradley's plot reminded me of a masterful game of chess, keeping the reader one step behind and unable to guess the killer's next move. I highly recommend it!"

Nancy Mehl, author of the Quantico Files series

"Patricia Bradley has done it again! Riveting from page one, Counter Attack pulled me in and held me captive, while spine-chilling tingles kept me looking over my shoulder. In her signature style, Bradley kept me guessing, page after thrilling page, in this first installation of what promises to be an exciting new romantic suspense series! I highly recommend!"

Elizabeth Goddard, bestselling author of Cold Light of Day

The Author

  1. Patricia Bradley

    Patricia Bradley

    Patricia Bradley is the author of Standoff, Obsession, Crosshairs, and Deception, as well as the Memphis Cold Case novels and Logan Point series. Bradley is the winner of an Inspirational Reader's Choice Award, a Selah Award, and a...

    Continue reading about Patricia Bradley