By Evening's Light

series: Amish Memories

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options


Treva Zimmerman finds herself at a crossroads in life after a heartbreaking failed relationship. Returning to Lancaster County to visit her Amish grandparents and elderly aunt, Treva plans to leave her Plain heritage behind for a fresh start in Alaska. Torn between the expectations of her community and her own desires, she seeks to follow her own path--but all that changes when her aunt Rosene suffers a heart attack.

As her aunt recounts her own past--a poignant journey through Cold War Germany and a fervent desire to escape her Plain life to search for a lost love--Treva is determined to discover the whereabouts of Rosene's former sweetheart. Amid the turmoil, their former farmhand Gabe Johnson returns unexpectedly, throwing Treva's plans into further disarray.

While working hard to save the farm and explore her own destiny, Treva confronts her deep-rooted ties to her heritage and must decide if she will embrace her family's legacy or break free from the pressures of her past to forge a life of her own.

The Author

  1. Leslie Gould

    Leslie Gould

    Leslie Gould ( is a Christy Award-winning and #1 bestselling author of over forty-five novels, including four Lancaster County Amish series. She holds a bachelor's degree in history and an MFA in creative writing. She enjoys church history,...

    Continue reading about Leslie Gould


"Gould develops Treva's interior world with depth and nuance, sensitively probing themes of loss, duty, and the past's hold on the present. This sends the series out on a high note."

Publishers Weekly