Beneath the Surface

series: Dive Team Investigations

Cover Art

Where to Purchase

More Options


After a harrowing experience with an obsessed patient, oncology nurse practitioner Leigh Weston needed a change. She thought she'd left her troubles behind when she moved home to Carrington, North Carolina, and took a job in the emergency department of the local hospital. But when someone tampers with her brakes, she fears the past has chased her into the present. She reaches out to her high school friend turned homicide investigator, Ryan Parker, for help.

Ryan finds satisfaction in his career, but his favorite way to use his skills is as a volunteer underwater investigator with the Carrington County Sheriff's Office dive team. When the body of a wealthy businessman is discovered in Lake Porter, the investigation uncovers a possible serial killer--one with a terrifying connection to Leigh Weston and deadly implications for them all.

Dive into the depths of fear with an exciting new voice in romantic suspense. Award-winning author Lynn H. Blackburn grabs readers by the throat and doesn't let go until the final heart-pounding page.


"Lynn H. Blackburn is an amazing new voice in romantic suspense-don't' miss her!"

Lynette Eason, bestselling and award-winning author of the Hidden Identity series

"With this book, author Lynn Blackburn has moved from the status of an upcoming author to watch and cemented herself as an author to note. Her exceptional storytelling skills shine as she weaves an intricate plot, populated with characters we care deeply about. Another up-all-night-because-I-can't-put-down-the-book read."

Edie Melson, award-winning author, blogger, and director of the Blue Ridge Mountains Christian Writers Conference

"Beneath the Surface is a swoon-worthy romantic suspense that packs a punch from page one. The nonstop action will keep you guessing until the end."

Rachel Dylan, author of the Atlanta Justice series

"Just when you think you can relax, Blackburn brings you back to the edge of your seat in this riveting, high-tension suspense story.

Patricia Bradley, author of Justice Delayed

The Author

  1. Lynn H. Blackburn
    Lynette Eason

    Lynn H. Blackburn

    Lynn H. Blackburn is the award-winning author of Unknown Threat, Malicious Intent, and Under Fire, as well as the Dive Team Investigations series. She loves writing swoon-worthy Southern suspense because her childhood fantasy was...

    Continue reading about Lynn H. Blackburn


"This vivid start of Blackburn's Dive Team Investigations series [is] a real page-turner."


"Fans of Dani Pettrey's Alaskan Courage thrillers will enjoy this nail-biter of a series opener."

Library Journal

"Award-winning author Lynn H. Blackburn grabs readers by the throat and doesn't let go until the final heart-pounding page."

Fresh Fiction



Book Trailer