Against the Wind

series: Secrets of Sweetwater Crossing

Cover Art

Where to Purchase


Two ambitious strangers have their futures all mapped out--but are they the right ones?

Doctor-in-training Louisa Vaughn is supposed to be in Sweetwater Crossing for only a few days to help a friend. She never expected to be swept up in a secret that could threaten her career and her heart. But she can't abandon the injured man she finds at the side of the road. Until he heals, she'll stay, serving as the town's doctor and midwife.

Josh Porter's plans to gain full control of the family business hit a roadblock when he breaks his leg. But his enforced stay in Sweetwater Crossing gives him new ideas about the expansion of the company into new territory--ideas Louisa could help turn into reality.

If only the town were more accepting of Louisa's talents! Someone is determined to convince her to abandon her dream. Can Josh help her uncover the person behind the threats before it's too late? And is there any future for them together when neither of them plans to stay?

The Author

  1. Amanda Cabot
    Photo by: Val Rothwell Photography

    Amanda Cabot

    Amanda Cabot is the bestselling author of After the Shadows and Against the Wind, as well as several historical and contemporary romance series, including Mesquite Springs, Cimarron Creek Trilogy, Texas Crossroads, Texas...

    Continue reading about Amanda Cabot


"Cabot's tale will appeal to Tracie Petersen fans and readers who enjoy tales of forgiveness and inspirational western historical romances."


"A beautifully written, emotionally charged story. Highly recommend."

Interviews and Reviews

"Cabot takes two misunderstood characters and sweetly gives them hope, purpose, and of course romance while entertaining readers with their story."

Reading Is My Superpower